High-maintenance Imaginary Girlfriend


Counseling
March 27, 2009, 7:09 pm
Filed under: diary

I wasn’t sure what to make of it at first. Dr. Raleigh hardly asked Karen anything. In fact, after the first 15 minutes, it was all about me: He asked Karen to step out of the room for some one-on-one interaction with me, and then he would do the same with her.

Then it was the third degree. How was my family life? Uh, it was great. I was loved and my creativity was always encouraged. Off topic to me and Karen, no?

How would I describe my relationships with other women? Uh, my mom and sister are amazingly supportive. Why wouldn’t he think my mom and sister count as women? Creepy!

How’s work? Awesome! I write radio advertising, so I don’t even have to leave my apartment. Telecommuting is the answer, not the problem.

But just when I’m ready to write this guy off, he nails the actual problem. He thinks Karen is too demanding and controlling. Bingo. I’m not crazy, whew! He explains that Karen pushes because she’s looking for boundaries. My acquiesence only feeds her insecurity. I need a line in the sand. I need what Karen SAYS she forbids:

I need to make a non-blood-relation. Female. Friend.

Is your mind blown right now? Because my mind was blown. Karen forbids female friends because she wants me to have one? That’s crazy! And yet Karen’s so crazy sometimes, isn’t something crazy the only thing that could ever make sense?

Ugh, I’d tell you what happened next, but I’ve got to take Karen to the train station. Yes, that’s a hint.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

